Siebert Lutheran Foundation Launches New Philanthropic Opportunity

Wednesday, May 22, 2019 (Milwaukee, Wis.) – The Siebert Lutheran Foundation is launching an initiative to partner with family foundations, private donors and other funding entities who are interested in growing their philanthropic impact with Lutheran schools and ministries and poverty-alleviation programs in Wisconsin, particularly in greater Milwaukee.

Supporting this initiative will be Siebert’s former CEO, Brenda Skelton, who is moving into the role of Executive Counsel to focus exclusively on this work to increase collective impact through partnerships and collaborations with others who wish to impact Gospel-based work. Siebert’s new President, Charlotte John-Gómez, joined the Foundation in July 2018 and is now assuming the senior leadership role and will run the Foundation’s day-to-day operations under the direction of the Board of Directors.

“Siebert has been building and cultivating relationships with the Lutheran ministry and nonprofit community for more than 60 years. Brenda Skelton has served Siebert for 15 years, first as a Director, then as CEO and President for the past six years. Siebert’s deep and refined experience is an untapped asset for philanthropists with the desire to increase the impact of their giving,” said Deni Naumann, Siebert’s Board Chair.  “We are gearing up to offer Siebert’s counsel, guidance, and support to family foundations and donors who are eager to share their financial gifts with ministries and nonprofits who serve as the hands and feet of Christ.” 

Strong leadership and stable governance have enabled the Siebert Lutheran Foundation to grant $131 million since 1976. In 2018, the Foundation granted $4.3 million to 106 organizations and ended the year with $93.5 million in assets.

Siebert is also excited to share that at the April board meeting Deni Naumann, President of Copesan - Specialists in Pest Solutions, was elected as Siebert’s Board Chair. Along with Ms. Naumann, the newly-elected Executive Committee includes Vice Chair Tom Kammerait, Shareholder and Chair of the Business Succession Planning Section, von Briesen, and Julie Van Cleave, Chief Investment Officer at the University of Wisconsin Foundation, serving as Treasurer and Chair, Investment, Finance & Audit Committee.

About Siebert Lutheran Foundation

The Siebert Lutheran Foundation, as a steward of its resources and relationships, enables the Lutheran community to be more collaborative, creative, and effective in how it shares the Word of God, how it educates and instills Christian values in our youth, and how it serves people in need. Siebert is a private independent Foundation and was established by the late Albert F. Siebert to fund Christian ministries identified with Lutheran churches and organizations within Siebert’s funding priorities in Wisconsin.

Board of Directors:

Chair: Deni Naumann, President of Copesan - Specialists in Pest Solutions

Vice Chair & Secretary: Thomas J. Kammerait, JD, CPA, Shareholder, von Briesen

Treasurer: Julie Van Cleave, Chief Investment Officer, University of Wisconsin Foundation

Directors at Large:

Kurt Bechthold, Chairman & CEO, Payne and Dolan

Knute Jacobson, Retired business owner

Kurtiss Krueger, CPA, retired Partner, WIPFLI

Timothy J. Larson, former Executive Director, Outreach for Hope, and Senior Planned Giving     Advisor, Luther Seminary beginning June 1, 2019

Joan M. Prince, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee

David J. Rodgers, CPA, Senior Vice President & President, Engines & Power, Briggs & Stratton

Abigail Schumwinger, Partner & Investment Director, Drexel Fund

John Sellars, Founder & President, Sellars, Inc.

John Zimdars, President, The Zimdars Company

Directors Emeritus:

Sharon Adams

Richard C. Barkow

Chris Bauer

Frederick H. Groth

Jack S. Harris

Raymond J. Perry

W. David Romoser

Armour F. Swanson